Chesterton CE Primary School
Chesterton CE Primary School
Chesterton CE Primary School

Intra-School Competitions

PE and Sport
Photo Gallery School Games
Sport Premium Dance
Intra-School Competitions Football Results Sports Personality of the Year

Hannah Barnes Swimming Gala
Sportshall Showdown Inter-house Football Inter-house Cricket
Hannah Barnes Swimming Gala Sports Day

As Chesterton's swimmers, from those taking part in Year 5/6 galas to the talented Year 3s in Ash Class, are so enthusiastic, we wanted to give them another chance to pit their skills against each other in an intra-school swimming gala.

The children are divided into four equally matched teams and take part in a series of individual and relay races (25m each) against children of approximately the same age/confidence level.

We decided to name our new, annual swimming event ‘The Hannah Barnes Trophy’ in memory of a beloved member of our school community who sadly passed away in 2018. Although she was a familiar face on the playground, you may not know that Hannah was an extremely talented swimmer who competed internationally as a junior, therefore we felt that it would be a small, but fitting tribute.
'Luke Gavrilovic - Captain of 2019 Champions: The Piranhas'
Chesterton CE Primary School


Event Record Holder Time
Year 6 Freestyle Luke Gavrilovic (2019) 17.52 secs
Year 5 Freestyle Toby Richings (2019) 23.03 secs
Year 4 Freestyle Honour Woodrow (2019) 22.19 secs
Year 3 Freestyle Olivia Morgan-Griffin (2019) 28.28 secs

Other Individual Strokes
Event Record Holder Time
Year 6 Butterfly Luke Gavrilovic (2019) 22.10 secs
Year 6 Breaststroke Lewis Smith (2019) 28.95 secs
Year 5 Breaststroke Kit Carry (2019) 30.53 secs
Year 4 Breaststroke Honour Woodrow (2019) 33.83 secs
Year 6 Backstroke Thomas Grenfell (2019) 26.11
Year 5 Backstroke Toby Richings (2019) 26.14 secs
Year 4 Backstroke    
Year 3 Backstroke Billy Brelsford (2019) 30.01 secs

Year 5/6 Freestyle Relay Piranhas (2019)
(Angelina Cerato, Jack Happell,
Thomas Grenfell, Luke Gavrilovic)
Year 3/4/5 Freestyle Relay Piranhas (2019)
(Olivia Morgan-Griffin, Sophia Shirvell,
Amelie Barlow, Lucy Billington)
Year 5/6 Medley Relay Barracudas (2019)
(Tyler Nix, Toby Richings,
Katie Smith, Lewis Smith)
Year 3/4/5 Medley Relay Piranhas (2019)
(Olivia Morgan-Griffin, Sophia Shirvell,
Amelie Barlow, Lucy Billington)

Hannah Barnes Trophy - Hall of Fame
2019 Piranhas
(L. Gavrilovic)
79 Barracudas
(L. Smith)

Chesterton CE Primary School
Alchester Road, Chesterton, Bicester
Oxon OX26 1UN
Tel: 01869 252498